Artists Climate Lab 2019

On Monday 9th of September the Artists Climate Lab 2019 will start, a week-long creative residency laboratory rooted in climate art and sustainable practice. The project is supported by the Arts Council England and led by London Theatre Consortium’s Creative Climate Leaders.

Held at Hawkwood College, Stroud – an ethical centre housed in a historic building run on ecological principles – theatre makers selected by Artistic Directors of the 14 member theatres of London Theatre Consortium, will explore the issues around Climate change and how this influence arts practice.

As Lucy Davies explained in her 2017 article, Climate Lab is  not a conference:

The spirit of this gathering — which we hope is a pilot and will be repeated in 2019 — is to feed the brains of artists with other artists’ practice. Not a conference. Not a scientific training session. A way of engaging and connecting artists across disciplines to be tooled up, fired and inspired in their climate art, activism and production processes. We want to empower independent artists to have confidence in their values when engaging with institutions, and to have an impact on those institutions and audiences. We also wanted to pay them, get them into the woods, feed them and listen.

The September 2019 cohort consists of:

Chinonyerem Odimba – Donmar Warehouse

Dawn King – Donmar Warehouse

April de Angelis – Theatre Royal Stratford East

Skot Wilson – Bush Theatre

Taio Lawson – Kiln Theatre

Diane Page – Lyric Hammersmith

Milli Bhatia – the Royal Court Theatre

Ella Road – Hampstead Theatre

Rachel Bagshaw – Unicorn Theatre

Jasmine Lee Jones – Gate Theatre

Megan Cronin – Young Vic Theatre

Jaz Woodcock-Stewart –Yard Theatre

The week will be facilitated by Jo Tyabji  and Dan de la Motte. Guest speakers include: Lucy Latham (Julie’s Bicycle), Dan Glass, Selina Nwulu, Zoe Svendsen, David Drew MP, Paul Mason, Jojo Mehta, Zena Edwards and Baroness Lola Young of Hornsey OBE.

We are also delighted to welcome back two alumni from the ACL 1: Tassos Steves and Ellie Sikorski.

With thanks to the organisation and planning team : Lucy Davies and Anthony Simpson-Pike